The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 46.0°F | Overcast

Women's, Men's Fencing Post Conference Wins

By Jennifer N. Mosier
Team Member

The men's and women's varsity fencing teams had an impressive performance Saturday in the Northeast Fencing Conference, comprised of Bates, Boston College, Boston University, Brandeis, Brown, Dartmouth, Tufts, UMass-Amherst, University of New Hampshire, Wellesley, and MIT. Both teams are well on their way to winning the conference this season; their next meets are on Dec. 3 at Brandeis.

The women's team began the day with a 19-13 win over Tufts (12-4 epe, 7-9 foil). This was followed by a hard-fought 17-15 (8-8, 9-7) win over the other NCAA team, Wellesley. The other victories were 24-8 (13-3, 11-5) over Dartmouth, 20-12 (9-7, 11-5) over UMass, and ending with a 27-5 blowout of Bates. During the Bates meet, the epe squad did not drop a single bout, finishing 16-0.

Individually, squad leader Merideth A. Rising '98 went 17-2 for the day, with her teammate, Jennifer N. Mosier '96 finishing 9-1 including a victory over 1995 NCAA Division 1 silver medalist Heidi Chang. The epe squad consisted of Rising, Mosier, Nicole D. Leifer '98, Kari A. Backes '96, Connie J. Chieng '99, and Christa A. Ansbergs '98. The foilists were captain Wanda A. Chin '97, Amy Hwang '97, Leejee H. Suh '97, Aimee L. Wiltz '99, Oriana C. Hunter'99, and Yuh-shioh Wong '99.

The men's team competed on Saturday at Brandeis. They started the day with a convincing 20-7 win (8-1 foil, 5-4 epe, 7-2 sabre) over UMass-Amherst. This was followed by a 18-9 (6-3, 7-2, 5-4) victory over Tufts. The men then lost a close, tough battle with UNH, 12-15 (5-4, 3-6, 4-5) and ended with a 15-12 victory (4-5, 6-3, 5-4) over Dartmouth.

Individually, captain David A. Nauman '97 went 6-1 in foil, and epe squad leader David W. Lewinnek '97 finished 9-2. Brian P. Bower '99, who also took the bronze medal in the Big One individual competition on Oct. 29th, finished 9-1 in sabre. The foil squad consisted of Nauman, Tan T. Trinh '96, Jaeyong Park '98, Andrew K. Samnick '99, Roger R. Dingledine '99, and Adrian D. Perez '98. Epe was Lewinnek, Jonathan R. Blandford '98, Hsienchang Chiu '96, and Dale M. Earnest '99. The sabre fencers were Joshua S. Trauner '97, James L. Hsieh '97, Bower, Chad K. Lewis '96, and Aidan N. Low '98.