The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 77.0°F | A Few Clouds

Women's Cross Country Second in Conference

By Lauren B. Klatsky
Team Member

The women's cross country team finished second in the New England Women's Eight Conference Championship at Clark University in Worcester on Oct. 28, behind Wellesley College.

While MIT lost to Wellesley by a score of 47 to 71, Tech coach Joseph A. Sousa was voted Coach of the Year for the conference. In addition, three team members won awards:Eve Phillips '99 won the race and was selected Athlete of the Year and Rookie of the Year, and Janis H. Eisenberg '98 and Lauren B. Klatsky '97 were named to the All-Conference Team for finishing second and seventh, respectively.

This coming Saturday, the team heads to the University of Southern Maine to compete in the New England Division III regional qualifying meet. Strong performances by any of the top runners could send them to the NCAA Division III National Championship in LaCrosse, Wisconsin next weekend.

The hilly course at Clark was made even more challenging by incessant rain and muddy conditions the day of the race. Phillips and Eisenberg crossed the finish line neck and neck, with times of 20:21 and 20:23, respectively. Klatsky was not far behind, at 21:00.

The next three MIT runners demonstrated great teamwork by finishing in a small pack. Lynn D. Cornell '97 placed 33rd with a time of 23:23, captain Ann M. McAninch '96 was 34th at 23:30, and Amalia Londono '99 completed the course 36th in 23:31. Despite falling and cutting herself during the race, Robin C. Evans '99 came in 41st with a time of 24:01. Susan L. Woodmansee '97 rounded out the Engineers' top seven at 24:41.

Phillips' first-place finish marks the second year in a row that a freshman from MIT has won the NEW8 Championship; Eisenberg won it last year and was granted the honor of wearing the number one in Saturday's race.