The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 40.0°F | A Few Clouds

Smith Honored with New Award at Annual Convocation

By Daniel C. Stevenson
Editor in Chief

Dean for Undergraduate Education and Student Affairs Arthur C. Smith was honored at the 1995 Awards Convocation yesterday afternoon with the presentation of a new Institute award bearing his name. Smith announced last year he will step down in July after five years as dean.

The commemoration culminated a two-hour ceremony at which 50 students, faculty, staff, and organizations received awards for academic, artistic, and athletic excellence and community service.

The Smith award will be given in future years "to a member of the MIT faculty for meaningful contributions and devotion to undergraduate student life," according to the announcement.

The award is being established "to commemorate his record of service in the area of undergraduate student life" and "to encourage faculty participation in undergraduate student life," the announcement read.

"This place has been my life," said Smith. "To have people recognize that is a truly great thing."

Raajnish A. Chitaley '95 and J. Paul Kirby '92 announced the award. Following their presentation, Chairman of the Corporation Paul E. Gray '54 spoke about Smith's work at MIT. Gray spoke of Smith's almost 30 years at MIT, dating back to the 1960s when Gray and Smith shared an office as professors in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

Three awarded Compton Prizes

Joseph J. Bambenek G, Susan L. Ipri G, and Prashant B. Doshi '95 received Karl Taylor Compton Prizes, the Institute's highest award. Smith presented the Compton prizes; Undergraduate Association President Carrie R. Muh '96 presided over the ceremony.

Bambenek was honored for "an intense and diverse devotion to the graduate student body" for his work on housing issues in the Graduate Student Council, Smith said.

Bambenek, chair of the GSC Housing and Community Affairs Committee over the past year, lobbied the administration on behalf of graduate students concerned over the future of their housing.

Ipri's "grace, humor, compassion, and brilliantly creative leadership" on many student issues were recognized in her award, Smith said. Ipri, outgoing GSC secretary, was honored for her work on Safe Walk, the Corporation Joint Advisory Committee, and GSC initiatives. She is "always improving life at MIT for others," Smith said.

Doshi, a two-term Interfraternity Council President, was recognized for his leadership in the IFC and development of race and gender relations programs.