The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 73.0°F | Overcast

3 X-C Runners Earn All-America Honors

By Roger Crosley
Sports Information Director

The men's and women's cross country teams together gained three more All-American winners a little over a week ago.

Ethan Crain '95 and Jesse Darley '95 placed ninth and 10th respectively in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Men's Cross Country Championship, while Janis Eisenberg '98 ran to 34th place in the women's competition.

Darley's honor was his second, and Eisenberg's honor is the first ever in cross country by an MIT woman. Eisenberg was an individual qualifier.

As a team MIT's men tied for 10th at the meet which was hosted by Moravian College in Bethlehem, Pa. Twenty-one teams qualified by region throughout the country. MIT had been ranked 12th going into the championship.

NEW-8 Selections

The New England Women's Eight Conference all-star teams have been selected in all sports and MIT athletes have received the top honors in each sport.

Cross country runner Eisenberg was the both Runner of the Year and Rookie of the Year in the conference based on her first place finish in the conference championship.

In field hockey, Katherine Merrilees '97 was the Player of the Year and has been named an All-Region selection by the College Field Hockey Coaches Association.

Becky Hill '95 was the Player of the Year in soccer. Carol Matsuzaki '95 was the All-NEW-8 selection in the first singles position in tennis. Matsuzaki has played competitive tennis for only three years.

For the second consecutive year Kamilah Alexander '96 is the volleyball Player of the Year. Alexander has also been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Region team.

In addition, several other athletes are NEW-8 All-Conference selections. They are:

Cross Country: Marjorie Delo '95

Soccer:Emily Brown '96

Tennis:"Bobby" Kommineni '98, Lily Koo '97

Volleyball: Stacey Dozono '97

Dozono and Pareen Dhalla '95 were named, along with Alexander, to the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Region team. All three athletes are now eligible for All-America honors.


Football honors have also recently been announced, and MIT players are prominent on two of these teams.

Five MIT players have been named to the GTE College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-District team.

Running back Chris Brown'96; defensive end Kevin Ferrigno '96; Corey Foster '95; defensive back David Hwang G; and punter Scott Vollrath '96, will all now appear on the national Academic All-America ballot. Undefeated Bentley College was the only other institution to place more than one player on the team, with two students named to the team.

Eastern Collegiate Football Conference All-Star honors were announced last week and MIT was represented by eight players.

First team selections were offensive guard Nick Bollweg '95, and Vollrath. Included on the second team were offensive guard Foster, running back Jose DeLeon '97; Trent Redman '97; linebacker Andy Carnell '95; and strong safety Mike Butville '98. Defensive tackle Chris Yanney '97 is an honorable mention selection.