The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 24.0°F | Overcast

Muelhoefer Wins Third Title

By Dan Wang
Team Member

Jay Muelhoefer '94, won his third consecutive doubles title at the Rolex New England Regional Small College Tennis Championships held at MIT this past weekend.

He and partner Nick Tsai '94 defeated brothers Dave and Tom Cooper of the U.S. Coast Guard Academy in the final, 3-6, 7-6 (12-10), 6-3. In last year's final, Muelhoefer defeated the same pair, with then-partner Alan Walpole '93.

Muelhoefer and Tsai will be heading to Oklahoma City in late October to compete in the Rolex National Small College Championships. There, Muelhoefer will try to defend the Division III title that he and Walpole captured last year. Muelhoefer has won each of his regional titles with a different doubles partner. Two years ago, as a sophomore, he won the doubles title with Manish Bhatia '93.

The win was well-deserved for Muelhoefer, who played a total of twenty-one sets in eight matches of singles and doubles play over the weekend. In both tournaments, he faced elimination many times.

In singles play, Tom Reifenheiser of Wesleyan University defended the title he won last year, defeating Jeff Poleshek of Bates College in the final, 6-2, 6-2. The best MIT showing was by Muelhoefer, who fell to the second-seeded Poleshek in the semifinals, 6-3, 7-5.

MIT had other representatives in both the singles and doubles tournament, but they were all eliminated in the first round. Second-seeded singles player Mauricio Lomelin '94 was beaten by Poleshek, 6-3, 6-0. Dave Cooper defeated Mark Erickson '94, 6-2, 6-2. Tsai lost to fourth-seeded Adam Gerstein of Amherst College, 7-5, 6-3. In doubles play, Dan Wang '97 and Jason Weintraub '97, the other MIT team, fell in three sets to Poleshek and his partner, Dylan Stearns, 6-4, 6-7 (7-4), 6-1.

The MIT men's team has enjoyed success in the regional tournament in recent years. MIT has produced the past three doubles champions, as well as the singles champion two years ago and a singles finalist last year.