The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 66.0°F | Fog/Mist

Nu Delta Wins Unihoc Playoffs

By Lynn Albers
Sports Editor

UNIHOC, famous in over 20 countries, landed in one more this school year as MIT students campus wide partook in the first U.S. Intramural UNIHOC league. Twenty-four teams representing 10 Greek organizations, five dormitories, and various groups including two graduate labs, Hillel, and the Muddy Charles Pub competed in many fast, exciting, and exhilirating games, all hoping to make it to the final four.

For all of you who missed this season, you won't have to wait long to check out UNIHOC. You can catch the action later this year when intramural UNIHOC moves to the fall season.

The first-ever UNIHOC playoffs in this country (not to be confused with the first-ever UNIHOC tournament last fall) took place Sunday. The four teams that prevailed were Baker 1, which dropped to LEES 11-7 and the Burton 3-1 team, which fell to Nu Delta 7-5 after shocking ND with four quick goals in the beginning of their match. ND found themselves behind for the first time all season. For a while it looked like ND was going to lose, but they pulled together to slowly but steadily take the victory.

The final game (in which only three players out of 14 were American) was the finest display of UNIHOC skills ever played in this country. Fans experienced the fastest, most aggressive, most action-packed UNIHOC game ever, not to mention the lowest-scoring game all season.

The game remained scoreless for the entire first half and the first 12 minutes of the second 15-minute half when Alan Walpole '93 scored the first goal for ND, which was topped by a John Sieh G goal a minute later. LEES retaliated but couldn't score due to the excellent double and triple teaming defense of ND on star LEES player Henrik Martin '93. When it was all over, the ND team, composed of Walpole, Sieh, Ling Tong '96, Darryl Hemingway '94, Steve Schlueter '96, Petter Skantze '96, Hans Liemke '94, Soycan Soyucayli '95, and Andre Brandao '96 prevailed 2-0. Excellent efforts were put in by Martin, Can Uran G, Joaquin Lacalle-Melero G, Rod Hinman G, and Marc Wefers G of LEES. Both teams displayed superb defense and aggressive, skillful offense.

Jen Majernik '96, intramural UNIHOC coordinator, commented after the finals, "It was exciting to see it grow to full IM level. Definitely worth the energy and time to see this many people come out to play and enjoy themselves."