The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 46.0°F | Overcast

Pole Vaulter Breaks MIT Record

By Roger Crosley
Sports Information Director

Pole vaulter Matt Robinson '94 shattered the Institute outdoor record by 9 1/2 inches with a vault of 16 feet, 4 1/2 inches in a meet with Tufts University and Bentley College. Robinson cleared the height on his third and final attempt and qualified for the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III National Championships. The Engineers finished second in the meet behind Tufts. John Wallberg '96 set a personal best in the meet in the hammer throw with a heave of 164-. In women's track, first year student Jen Boyle won the shotput event with a 35-6 heave in the Fitchburg State College Invitational.

Women's basketball player Portia Lewis '93 was awarded a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship by the NCAA. Lewis averaged 12.2 points and 9.2 rebounds for the Engineers in 1992-93. She is the thirteenth NCAA postgraduate scholarship winner at MIT in the past four years.

The golf team finished second to the host school in the Engineers Cup tournament held at Carnegie Mellon University. Tom Kawamoto '96 tied for medalist honors in the tournament with a 36 hole score of 162. Kawamoto was later defeated in a playoff by Nick Inkenhaus of CMU.

The lacrosse team defeated Bates College recently by a score of 13-8, marking the first time the Engineers have beaten Bates since 1983.

The Engineers' baseball team swept a double header from Worcester Polytechnic Institute Saturday afternoon to raise its record to 13-6. The Engineers have won six straight games and have taken nine of their last 10 contests. Field hockey players Carla Oshiro '95 and Anne Torres '96 have been selected to attend the College Futures field hockey camp this summer. Oshiro and Torres are two of only 50 selections from throughout the country to attend the camp, which is intended to improve the skills of elite level athletes and train those athletes for national competition.