The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 28.0°F | A Few Clouds

Our Engineers Run Faster than Theirs

By Bo Light
Staff Reporter

The men's track team traveled to Worcester last Saturday to face Worcester Polytechnic Institute and Rochester Polytechnic Institute for the fabled Engineer's Cup. The ensuing rain could not dampen the team's spirit or its talent as the Engineers beat the Engineers and the Engineers to win the meet for the umpteenth year in a row. The final score was MIT 89, RPI 62, and WPI 52.

John Wallberg '96 started things off on the right foot by winning the hammer with a throw of 145 feet. Wallberg also won the discus 127-11 and placed second in the shot 42-10 1/4. MIT did not fare as well in the javelin, however, as no one placed..

MIT was shut out again in the long jump; things also looked bleak in the pole vault, as top vaulter Robinson injured himself and did not clear any heights. Bill Arnold '94 managed to salvage fourth place for the Engineers with a vault of 11-6. The team came back in the other jumps, however, as Andy Ugarov '95, 6-6, and James Kirtley '94, 6-2, took first and second in the high jump. Ugarov also won the triple jump with a stellar leap of 42-1/4.

MIT showed its true dominance over WPI and RPI in the running events, where the men won eight of eleven events. Super sprinter Matt Sandholm `96 won the 100-meter dash in a blazing 11.2 seconds. Jay Chiang '94 and Marcelo Targino '96 tied for fourth with a time of 11.7 seconds. Sandholm also outran the field in the 200-meter, finishing in 22.8 seconds, with Brad Geilfuss '94 taking fourth in 23.4 seconds. WPI's high hurdlers proved to be too good to be beaten, but Colin Page '95 finished in 16.4 seconds and Ed Cho '93 in 16.8, managing to get third and fourth. Corcoran, who finished in 51.5 seconds, and Geilfuss and John Rodkin '94 took the top three places in the 400-meter; Deniz Akyuz '93 came close to completing the four-place sweep but fell just short. In the 400-meter hurdles, Craig Andera '94 won his heat in his first-ever race, but unfortunately he was in the slower heat. In the second heat, Chiang managed to take second place, finishing in 58.9 seconds, and Bo Light '96 outsprinted an RPI runner to the line to get third in 60.5 seconds. The 400-meter relay team of Chiang, King, Targino, and Sandholm took advantage of an RPI disqualification to win going away in a time of 44.8 seconds.

Mike Piepergerdes '93 won the 800-meter run in 1 minute, 59.7 seconds, with Ethan Crain '95 taking third in 2:04.6 and Kirtley just missing fourth. Piepergerdes also won the 1500-meter in 4:07.7; Jesse Darley '95 and Jesse Hull '95 took third and fourth. Crain took the steeplechase with a time of 9:50.4, and David Moyle `94 came in second at 10:15.1. The distance events concluded when Rob Casadonte `94 took fourth in the 5000-meter, with Arnold Seto `96, Chuck Curtis `95, and Sameer Raheja `96 providing support. In the final event of the day, the 1600-meter relay team of Knoedler, Rodkin, Hull, and Targino finished a close second to RPI, with a time of 3 minutes 31.2 seconds.