The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 50.0°F | Overcast

Six Professors Awarded First MacVicar Faculty Fellowships

By Brian Rosenberg
Editor in Chief

Six professors have been named MacVicar Faculty Fellows in recognition of their "exemplary and sustained contributions" to undergraduate education, according to a press release from the MIT News Office.

The new fellows are Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Harold Abelson PhD '73, Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics Edward F. Crawley '76, Professor of Chemistry Daniel S. Kemp, Professor of Mathematics Arthur P. Mattuck, Professor of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences John B. Southard '60, and Professor of Biology Graham C. Walker.

Each faculty fellow will hold a 10-year term and receive $5,000 each year for support of research, educational activities, and other scholarly expenses. The program is supported by $10 million in MIT endowment and a $1 million gift from the Exxon Education Foundation. President Charles M. Vest announced the creation of the program in his inaugural address, but it was only recently named to honor the accomplishments of the late Margaret L. A. MacVicar '65, former dean for undergraduate education.

"Excellence in undergraduate teaching must be rewarded and encouraged," Vest said in his inaugural address. "To this end, we are establishing an endowed program to recognize members who have profoundly influenced our students."

When the program is fully in place, there will be 60 to 80 fellows, according to Provost Mark S. Wrighton. Plans are for six to eight new faculty fellows to be appointed each year. Selections are based on merit alone, without any quotas for schools or departments.