The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 72.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Men's Crew Season Opens with a Win

By Dan Dunn

Team Member

The MIT varsity heavyweight crew team opened the spring season with a big victory over Columbia on Saturday. The victory returns the Alumni Cup to MIT for the first time in the last four years. MIT and Columbia have been battling over the cup annually for over 50 years.

The MIT crew won the 2,000-meter race by almost 20 seconds, finishing in seven minutes flat to Columbia's 7:19.5. MIT pulled two seats ahead on the start and was a full length over Columbia at the 500-meter mark. The water was driven by 20 mph winds, making whitecapped waves which slowed both boats.

The MIT boat, from bow to stern, was composed of Godard Abel<\!s>'93, Carlos Reategui '92, Steve Britten '94, Jonathan Li '93, Jed Macosko '94, Brad Layton '92, Kevin Corgan '93, Tyler Worden '92 as stroke, and Neeraj Gupta '94 as coxswain.

The freshman heavyweight boat beat Columbia by an even wider margin. They crossed the finish line at 7:36.7, 40 seconds ahead of Columbia. From bow to stern, the boat was Joseph Whelan '95, Jonathan Singer '95, Mike Schlosser '95, Brad Pearson '95, Nathan Crosswhite '95, Jeffrey Tomasi '95, Soykan Soyucayli '95, Bradley Lichtenstein '95 as stroke, and Conan Hom '95 as coxswain.

Columbia did not have a second boat, so a race was arranged between MIT's second boat and Harvard's third boat. Harvard's boat won that race by 22 seconds, over MIT's boat of Joost Bonsen '92, Daniel Dunn '94, Jeffrey Dickerson '94, Lorin Theiss '94, Guillermo Peschard '94, Eric Martin '94, William Ramsey '92, John VanHouten<\!s>'94 as stroke, and Heidi Gibson '92 as coxswain.

MIT's third boat had its race against Harvard's fourth boat, but they lost by 12 seconds. Chuck Sindelar '92 was in bow, followed by Ljubomir Ilic '92, Yen Ho '92, Eric Beam '94, Geoffrey Parker G, Matthew Drake '94, Hans Liemke '94, Nick Carter G at stroke, and Eunice Kwak '95 as coxswain.

The freshman second boat raced one of Northeastern University's freshman boats. This was the closest race of the day, and MIT came up nine seconds short of Northeastern's crew. The second freshman boat is made up of Steve McNamara '95, Shawn Hanegan '95, Axle Peterson '95, Alejandro Heyworth '95, John Prato '95, Eric Fitch '95, Edward Olebe '95, Gregor Andrade '92 as stroke, and Peter Yao '95 as coxswain.

This weekend the heavyweight team has a busy schedule. Tomorrow, they race in Worcester against WPI, Connecticut College, and Williams. Sunday they race here against Coast Guard. The varsity (first boat) will race at 10:45 a.m. on Sunday, while the second boat races at 9:45 a.m.