The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 69.0°F | Light Rain Fog/Mist

A Look at the UA Structure

The<\p>Undergraduate Association provided The Tech the following description of UA offices and officers.

Undergraduate Association Council: The UA Council consists of approximately 54 students representing the dormitories, InterFraternity Council, and class governments. It is chaired by the floor leader, who is elected from the council each spring for a one-year term.

*<\!s>UA Council Office of the Floor Leader: The floor leader is responsible for handling all matters involving the council. He is its spokesman and chief legislative officer, determines the agenda for each meeting, and makes all committee appointments for the council. The floor leader is assisted by a vice chairman of the council and up to three staff assistants, all of which are principal officers of the council. Additionally, the chairs of the Policy and Special Committees, the Parliamentarian, and the Sergeant at Arms are general officers of this office.

* UA Council Steering Committee: The UAC Steering Committee is chaired by the vice chairman of the council and includes the floor leader and the Policy and Special Committee chairs as members. It serves as an advisory body to the floor leader in setting the council's agenda and may enact policies for the UA government in place of the council.

*<\p>Association of Student Activities: The ASA is responsible for governing student activities at MIT and for allocating space. This is a joint committee of the UA Council and the Graduate Student Council.

UA Office of the President: The Office of the President is responsible for executing the acts and laws of the Undergraduate Association. Its executive officers are the UAP, the UAVP, the UA Secretary General, the UA Treasurer, and its general officers are the Administrative Committee chairs.

* UA President: The UAP is the chief executive officer of the UA. The UAP's primary duties include acting as general spokesman for the UA, serving on the Corporation Joint Advisory Committee (CJAC), calling special meetings of the UA Council, and appointing ad hoc committees. Additionally, the UAP may veto UA Council legislation, but the Council may overturn the veto with a two-thirds vote.

*<\p>UA Vice President: The UAVP is the chief operating officer of the UA and his primary duties consist of supervising and directing the functioning of the Office of the Preisdent and the UA office, assisting the UAP, and chairing the UA Executive Committee.

*<\p>UA Secretary General: The secretary general acts as secretary for both the council and the Executive Committee. She is responsible for the communications aspect of the UA and co-chairs the UA Publicity Affairs Committee.

*<\p>UA Treasurer: The treasurer is the Chief Financial Officer of the UA and is responsible for maintaining the integrity of UA accounts (both the UA government and student activities). This officer is the direct treasurer for the Office of the President, the UA office, and the ad hoc committees and the financial advisor to the standing committees, the UA Council, the class governments, and the UA Judicial Board.

*<\p>UA Executive Committee: The UA Executive Committee is chaired by the UAVP. It mainly serves as an advisory board to the UAP. Its membership consists of the executive and general officers of the Office of the President, as well as the ad hoc committee chairs. In extreme emergencies, this committee may act to resolve a situation for the UA Council if the council can not meet.