The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 37.0°F | Partly Cloudy

Swimmers top Wheaton

By Tina Grosskopf

and Jennifer Chan

The varsity women's swim team dove into their season last week with a strong win against Wheaton College. MIT's overpowering performance began with a win in the 200m medley relay, swum by Christine Harada '94, Maroula Bratakos '93, Clara Yang '95 and Arley Kim '95.

Individual performances were also strong. Holly Goo '95 won the 200m freestyle. Also, Clara Yang '95 and Kristin Persons '95 will likely see a lot of distance swimming this year due to their outstanding performance in the 500m freestyle.

The most exciting aspect of this meet was the introduction of MIT's divers, a new phenomenon for the MIT women's team. Debbie Gustafson '95 took first place in the one meter and three meter diving events. Jennifer Szostak '95 took second in the one meter diving.

Upperclassmen also held their own. Karen Pfautz '93, one of the most feared and controversial swimmers in New England, showed off her sprinting abilities with wins in the 50m freestyle and 50m butterfly. Cristine Harada '94 took control of both backstroke events and co-captain Patricia Foote '92 took second place in the 50m butterfly. Monthakan Ratnarathorn '93 showed the Wheaton swimmers that knee surgery won't stop her from swimming quickly this year, as she pulled out second place in the 200m and 500m freestyle events.

MIT's next meet is against Bowdoin College at Bowdoin on Saturday. With the incoming freshmen and a new assistant coach, Maureen Travers, the team is looking forward to an exciting season.

Tina Grosskopf '92 and Jennifer Chan '92 are co-captains of the women's varsity swim team.