The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 64.0°F | Rain Fog/Mist and Breezy

UA elects new ExecBoard members

By Sabrina Kwon

Four students were elected to the Undergraduate Association Executive Board at last Thursday's UA Council meeting, the second of the year. The council, which met in Twenty Chimneys in the Student Center, also addressed many issues affecting MIT student life.

Seven students were nominated for the four openings on the eight-person committee, which is responsible for setting agendas for meetings and for making emergency decisions when the council is not in session.

David J. Kessler '94 of Lambda Chi Alpha and Ronald D. Peters '94 of Kappa Sigma were elected to represent the InterFraternity Council on the executive board, as well as Shally Bansal '93 of MacGregor House and Emily R. Prenner '93 of Baker House. These members will hold their positions until the beginning of the spring term, when more elections will be held.

Ex officio executive board members, who hold their positions until the tenure of their office expires, are: UA President Stacy E. McGeever '93, Vice President J. Paul Kirby '92, General Secretary Anne S. Tsao '94 and Officer of the Floor Hans C. Godfrey '93.

Two motions discussed

by council members

Tsao made a proposal addressing the current oversubscription of the UA Safety Shuttle, more commonly known as "A Safe Ride." Tsao's proposal was to give priority to lone travelers when the shuttle is overbooked, since "violent crime tends not to occur in groups of three persons or more on the MIT campus." The motion suggested that "groups of three or more travelers with the same destination should be considerate of lone travelers" when using the safety shuttle.

The motion was tabled because of the upcoming expansion of

the shuttle service which should greatly ease Safe Ride's current congestion.

McGeever also presented a proposal to develop an Interim Academic Calendar, which the council passed unanimously. The calendar hopes to explore "the possibilities for the educational content of IAP."

The calendar project will entail the creation of a calendar committee, which will consist of faculty and students, including two undergraduates. The committee members will consider and determine certain logistics of the academic year, including the length and number of terms, exact dates of vacations, the length and placement of Residence/Orientation Week, and the length of reading periods and final examination periods.

Colleen M. Schwingel '92, the student representative for the Faculty Policy Committee, spoke about the FPC's current agenda during the meeting. Schwingel talked about a new faculty committee which is forming to study indirect costs of research, a project inspired by the current government audit of MIT.

Schwingel said the FPC also discussed filling the vacancy created by the recent death of Dean for Undergraduate Education Margaret L. A. MacVicar '65. The committee is unsure whether they should reshape the whole department or simply appoint a new dean to fill her spot, but the issue will be discussed further and ultimately resolved, Schwingel said.

Other business discussed

The meeting closed with announcements of events of general student interest. The first concerned the $1200 fellowships offered by the Public Service Center for students interested in public service projects.

The UA Safety Committee noted that Late Night at Lobdell, which sponsored a talk entitled "How to Give a Woman an Orgasm," is looking for educational and entertaining acts.

The last announcement concerned the class councils, which are sponsoring a Battle of the Classes on November 16. The classes are scheduled to fight it out at Killian Court from 12 pm to 5 pm in events such as leap frog, wheel barrow and "dizzy bat" races. The class officers encouraged as many people from their respective classes to show their class spirit by forming individual four-person teams.