The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 88.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Students will take part in search for new dean


By Alice Gilchrist

Provost Mark S. Wrighton has established an advisory committee of 11 people to search for a new dean for the School of Architecture and Planning. According to the chair of the advisory committee, Professor Bernard J. Frieden '57, the committee is in the "early stages of its search."

It is currently receiving briefings from within the School of Architecture.

Dean Jean P. de Monchaux, the current dean of the School

of Architecture, announced last spring that he would resign on Jan. 15, 1992, according to Associate Dean Lois A. Craig.

Some members of the advisory committee will be from outside the Institute, including a Boston architect and a newly appointed faculty member who will not begin his in his new position until the spring.

Graduate students Aysen Savas G of the Department of Architecture and Jean A. Riesman G of the Department of Urban Studies and Planning will also serve on the committee, along with one former MIT student from each of those departments.

Graduate Student Council President Furio Ciacci G said he is happy that two graduate students are on the advisory committee, and that he hopes they will be "in touch with their constituency, so that the constituency's views will be represented." Ciacci said he believes that the "more grads on the committee, the better," but he also said that he is grateful there are as many as two students helping with the search for the new dean.

Ciacci said that if undergraduates in the Department of Architecture are impacted by the choice for dean, then they should be represented on the committee, too.

No undergraduates appointed

to dean search committee

The Undergraduate Association Committee on Rules and Governance was upset that the advisory committee did not include any undergraduates. Chairman Ronald D. Peters '94 said he was "definitely disappointed that no undergraduates were assigned to the committee."

Peters explained that the "Dean of Architecture affects undergraduates and graduates." Peters said he wishes at least one undergraduate were on the committee in order to make the number of undergraduate and graduate students on the committee proportional to the number of those types of students majoring in Course IV.

The absence of undergraduates is an important issue to the UA governance committee because it is "seeking the student perspective," said committee member Hans C. Godfrey '93. Godfrey explained that students "see issues from a different perspective" because the students live at the school and are affected daily by occurrences within their department, whereas the faculty see MIT and the School of Architecture in a different light.

David W. Hogg '92, another member of the governance committee, agreed. He said that MIT seems to be seeking a balance between research and teaching, which leads him to believe that there should be some advisory committee members who will represent those concerned about teaching in the School of Architecture. But, Hogg said, faculty, graduate students and outside professionals are concerned with research, not teaching, which undergraduates certainly are interested in.

After leaving his post as dean, de Monchaux will remain on the faculty was a tenured professor. De Monchaux was not available for comment.