The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 69.0°F | Partly Cloudy

GSC elects Ciacci as next president


By Lakshmana Rao

The Graduate Student Council elected Furio Ciacci G president and Thomas M. Quinn G vice president at a special meeting held last Tuesday. The election was conducted through a secret ballot, the results of which were not made available for publication.

Michael D. Grossberg PhD '91, current GSC president, said all candidates won by "a substantial majority." He also said that it is "not unusual" for the GSC not to release the vote tallies from its elections.

The council, which had the minimum quorum of 22 members at the election, elected Christopher S. Stipp G secretary and Christopher B. Umminger G as treasurer. Stipp, of the Department of Biology, and Umminger, from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, both ran unopposed.

The officers will officially take charge of their respective offices at the next council meeting, to be held May 14. They will serve for the next academic year.

Ciacci, a first year graduate student in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, promised to continue to focus on governance while taking a special initiative to find new ways to promote the GSC.

"We need effective ways of reaching out to the graduate students and getting them more involved in the affairs of the council. We

(Please turn to page 7)


(Continued from page 1)

will continue to function in a decentralized fashion, while giving full freedom to the various committees," Ciacci said.

As GSC vice president, Quinn will be responsible for the nominations of graduate students to Institute committees. Quinn, a second year mechanical engineering student, promised to ensure that "the graduate students in the committees are answerable to the council and function as effective intermediaries between the graduate students and the Institute."

The GSC tried to hold elections for its officers April 16, but no candidates stood for any of the offices.

(Editor's note: Dave Watt contributed to the reporting of this story.)