The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 87.0°F | Overcast

1991 Awards Convocation Recipients

1991 Awards Convocation Recipients

The Karl Taylor Compton Prizes

[cw-1](For students who have made outstanding contributions in promoting high standards of achievement and good citizenship)


Steven D. Penn GZ_David P. Carroll '91

David G. Steel GZ_Rebecca D. Kaplan '92


The William L. Stewart Jr. Awards

(For outstanding contributions to extracurricular life)


James W. Bales GZ_Andrew M. Greene '91

John B. Morrell GZ_Manish Bapna '91

Thomas H. Moyer GZ_Monnica J. Williams '91

Dawn R. Orton GZ_William B. Glass '92


Columbian Student Association

Defeat Discrimination at MIT

The Laya W. Wiesner Award

(For an undergraduate woman who has enhanced MIT community life)

Sallie E. Israelit '91

The Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Awards

(For achievements in the creative arts)


Peter E. Dunn GZ_Festival Jazz Ensemble


The Albert G. Hill Prize

(For minority juniors or seniors who have maintained high academic standards or improved the quality of life for minorities)


Darcy D. Prather '91Z_Benigno Salazar '91


The Frederick Gardiner Fassett Jr. Award

(For a member of the Interfraternity Council for spirit and dedication)

Ariel Warszawski '90

The James R. Killian Jr. Community Service Award

(For a fraternity with an outstanding community service program)

Phi Delta Theta

The Kenneth R. Wadleigh Award

(For an independent living group for promoting faculty/student interaction)

Zeta Psi

The IFC Alumni Relations Award

MIT Panhellenic Association

The Irwin Sizer Award

(For innovations in MIT education)

Chemicals in the Environment

Graduate Student Council Awards for Teaching

(Presented separately in each school)


Marvin M. Miller

School of Engineering

Lawrence E. Susskind MCP '73

School of Architecture and Planning

Marcelo Cavarozzi

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

John Joannopoulos

School of Science

Arnold I. Barnett?Z_Robert M. Freund

School of Management


The Edward L. Horton Fellowship Award

(For fostering fellowship among graduate students)

Graduate Student Council Activities Committee

The Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award

for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching


Margery ResnickZ_Robert J. Silbey

Steven H. Strogatz


Amar Bose Teaching Award

(In recognition of outstanding contributions to undergraduate education by members of the electrical engineering and computer science faculty)

Alvin W. Drake '57

The Association of MIT Alumnae Awards

(For senior women for academic excellence)


Lori M. Lubin '91Z_Rebecca B. Scarr '91


The Goodwin Medal

(For a graduate student for conspicuously effective teaching)


James Fuller Abbott GZ_Gregory W. Wornell G


The Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts

(For a graduating senior)

Julie A. Schmittdiel '91

The Gordon Y Billard Award

(For outstanding merit performed for the Institute)

Warren Seamans

The James N. Murphy Award

(For a spirited employee who has won the hearts of students)


Be B. HubbardZ_Phyllis Ruby

James E. Roberts


The Howard W. Johnson Award

(For the male senior athlete of the year; formerly the Class of 1948 Award)

Mark W. Dunzo '91

The Betsy Schumacker Award

(For an undergraduate woman athlete)

Lisa K. Arel '92

The Admiral Edward L. Cochrane Award

(For a male senior athlete for humility and leadership)

David R. Tomlinson '91

The Pewter Bowl Award

(For a female senior athlete for inspiration and leadership)


Theresa E. Fuentes '91Z_Stephanie L. Ragucci '91


The Malcolm G. Kispert Awards

(For the male and female senior scholar-athletes of the year)


Darcy D. Prather '91Z_Fiona P. S. Tan '91


The Harold J. Pettergrove Award

(For outstanding service to intramural athletics)

Pankaj Oberoi '91