The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 63.0°F | Fog/Mist

McGeever, Kirby win UAP/VP

By Jeremy Hylton

Stacy E. McGeever '93 and J. Paul Kirby '92 were elected president and vice-president of the Undergraduate Association on Wednesday. McGeever and Kirby scored a decisive victory over their opponents, Jonathan J. Lee '93 and Kristoffer H. Pfister '93.

McGeever and Kirby captured 59 percent of the ballots cast, while Lee and Pfister won only 34 percent of the vote. Other candidates received eight percent of the vote.

The results of the election will remain unofficial until certified by the UA Council. Candidates receiving less than five percent of the votes cast were not listed separately in the election results. This included "none of the above" votes, according to Daniel J. Dunn '94, UA election commissioner.

McGeever said, "We are pleased and eager to begin working. We've already begun working." She and Kirby plan to make the academic calendar, including orientation and the Independent Activities Period, their first priority.

Lee wished the winners a good term of office. "They have some very good issues on their platform that it looks like students would like to see fulfilled," he said.

McGeever and Kirby saw two reasons for their success. "I think our issues -- the basis for our platform -- addressed a lot of students' concerns," McGeever said. She also added that door-to-door campaigning helped get students interested.

Kirby said that their platform "was solid and concrete and there from the beginning."

Lee felt his campaign was not successful because his platform was not made clear. He said he could not pinpoint the reason for that failure. "Perhaps our message didn't quite get through. What we were concerned about were those core issues that really need to be dealt with," he said.

Pfister said he was generally pleased with the way the election was run. "I was a little upset by the fact that The Tech did support the McGeever/Kirby team," said Pfister. "[The Tech] really does have a monopoly on the students, because there's only one real paper."

Voter turnout "about average"

Voter turnout for the election was 33 percent of the undergraduate student body, down slightly from last year's turnout of 38 percent. "This is probably about average, maybe a couple points below," Dunn explained.

The turnout figure is somewhat inaccurate, according to Dunn. "Some people just voted for UA president and some people just voted for class officers," he said. There were slightly more ballots cast in the UAP/UAVP election than in the elections for class officers.

Dunn was satisfied with the turnout for the election. "Given the ballot we had, the turnout is to be expected. If we'd had more competitive races, the turnout would have been much higher," he said.

Lee said that voter turnout was low. He thought that the low turnout indicated dissatisfaction with the way the UA is run. "I think that's when you see students voice their interest in the UA," he explained.

Dunn said the campaign for Class of 1992 president was the most hotly contested. "[The UAP/UAVP campaign] wasn't as emotional. While Lee and Pfister ran a very comprehensive campaign, it didn't have the same intensity [as the Class of 1992 presidential campaign]," he said.

In an attempt to increase turnout, the UA placed a polling station on the Boston side of the Harvard Bridge. In previous years the Boston polling station was located at the Theta Chi fraternity. This year 120 votes were cast at the Boston station, compared with 70 last year.

Class officers elected; some

positions remain vacant

Elections for class officers were also held on Wednesday. When it became clear that most candidates were running unopposed, the UA extended the deadline to register for a race.

"I think this year was worse than usual and I'm at a loss to say why," Dunn explained. "I think we did quite well with the extended deadline."

Candidates for treasurer, member-at-large, and class agent for the Class of 1991, treasurer for Class of 1992, publicity chair for the Class of 1993, and publicity and social chairs for the Class of 1994 registered during the extension period.

There were no candidates on the ballot for three Class of 1992 offices. The other three officers elected will fill those positions at a future date.

Sharra L. Davidson, running unopposed, was elected president of the Class of 1991, winning 87 percent of the ballots cast. Susan E. Perrin '91 and Andrew P. Strehle '91 were elected vice-president and secretary, respectively. Running unopposed, Perrin captured 89 percent of votes cast and Strehle won 86 percent.

Laura C. Moore easily defeated write-in candidate Andrew F. Parsons in the race for Class of 1991 treasurer. Moore won 77 percent of the vote to Parsons' 10 percent. Brian M. Katz, who received 76 percent of votes cast, and Anthia Y. Chen, who received 87 percent, were elected Class of 1991 members at large. Garrett R. Love '91 became class agent by winning 81 percent of the vote. All were unopposed.

Aileen W. Lee defeated Peter N. Wainman in the race for president of the Class of 1992. Lee received 55 percent of the votes cast, while Wainman won 41 percent. "The Lee-Wainman race was by far the most contested," said Dunn.

Ava Y. Kuo, running uncontested, received 72 percent of the vote to win the election for Class of 1992 vice-president. Jennifer B. Singer was elected junior class treasurer, winning 78 percent of the vote in an uncontested race. No one was elected to the office of secretary, publicity, or social chair for the Class of 1992.

Lisa M. Chow beat Andrew S. Altervogt for Class of 1993 president. Chow received 54 percent of the vote, while Altervogt won 34 percent. Yvonne G. Lin was elected Class of 1993 vice-president, winning 55 percent of the vote. Dewitt C. Seward IV followed with 33 percent of the votes cast.

Sophia Yen won the race for Class of 1993 treasurer, defeating write-in candidate Jee Y. Ahn. Yen won 68 percent of the votes cast, while Ahn received 16 percent.

The team of Reshma P. Patel and Rebecca L. Geisler ran unopposed for Class of 1993 publicity chair. They received 78 percent of votes cast. Wendy C. Vit '93 and Leila Tabibian '93 were elected social chairs. Their team also ran unopposed, garnering 82 percent of the votes cast.

Kai-Teh Tao won the election for Class of 1994 president. He received 64 percent of the vote, defeating Jeff C. Dickerson, who received 27 percent of the votes.

Jacob W. Loomis ran unopposed for Class of 1994 vice-president. He received 75 percent of the votes cast. Ann Chen was elected class secretary, receiving 78 percent of the vote. She also ran unopposed.

David S. Park narrowly beat Karen W. Ho in the race for Class of 1994 treasurer. Park received 49 percent of the votes cast, while Ho won 36 percent. Anne S. Tsao ran unopposed for class publicity chair, winning 77 percent of the vote. Jennifer M. Moore, who was elected social chair, won 89 percent of the votes cast in an uncontested race.