The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 63.0°F | Partly Cloudy

UA candidates make final presentations

By Prabhat Mehta

Candidates for Undergraduate Association president and vice president made final presentations at last night's candidate forum in Room 4-163. They were joined by class-office candidates, who also gave final speeches in preparation for tomorrow's UA elections.

Undergraduates will vote tomorrow between 8 am and 8 pm in the Julius A. Stratton '23 Student Center, Lobby 7, Walker Memorial, outside Baker House (inside if rain), and the Boston side of the Harvard Bridge (Theta Chi if rain). Two choices will appear on the ballot for UA president/vice president: Jonathan J. Lee '93/Kristoffer H. Pfister '93 and Stacy E. McGeever '93/J. Paul Kirby '92.

Lee and Pfister last night continued to stress opening up the UA to promote communication and diversity. While Lee said the two would like to "continue the continuity of the leadership of the UA," he criticized what he felt was a current lack of communication between the UA and its student constituents.

McGeever and Kirby maintained their commitment to specific issues, most notably the future of Project Athena and the preservation of Independent Activities Period. "We feel our issues have arisen from the students," McGeever said.

The UA, Lee said, needs to "get students involved" and serve as an "amplifier of student opinion."

Lee said he and Pfister do not want the UA to merely provide student services -- a key part of the McGeever/Kirby campaign. Rather, they intend to focus on the larger issue of the legitimacy of the current UA structure, he said.

Lee also reiterated the team's intention not to have a well-developed platform. "Having a set agenda is detrimental to the UA," he said.

At the same time, Lee brought up specific issues the team felt needed to be resolved. They mentioned undergraduate housing, the academic calendar, IAP and freshman orientation as important student issues. While Lee said he and Pfister are in favor

of maintaining and strengthening IAP and "keeping rush and student housing the way they are," he emphasized that the team has an "open agenda."

During the question period, when asked by current UA President Manish Bapna '91 about his views on the Freshman Housing Committee report, Pfister fell silent, apparently in confusion. Later, in an attempt to address questions from Bapna, Pfister referred to Bapna as the "UAVP."

McGeever said she and Kirby had concrete proposals concerning the fate of Project Athena and IAP, which they hope to maintain and strengthen. They also plan to implement a new security shuttle service, publish

an Institute calendar for events and announcements, monitor the food service and promote increased student participation on Institute committees, McGeever said.

In addition, McGeever said she and Kirby were exploring ways in which the UA Council could be made more accountable to students. She suggested having UAC representatives elected floor-by-floor, or entry-by-entry, to more accurately reflect student groups in dormitories.

When asked about undergraduate housing, McGeever said she and Kirby would, if the issue were brought up again, make sure students were well-represented in the decision-making process.

The teams had previously presented their views at a debate

last Wednesday in Room 9-150. Though originally intended for broadcast by MIT Student Cable Television, the debate will not

be shown because no sound was recorded.

Candidates for class

offices present views

Candidates for class office also gave final speeches and took questions from the audience.

Jeffrey C. Dickerson and Kai-Teh Tao are running for president of the Class of 1994. Jacob W. Loomis, for vice president; Ann Chen, for secretary; and Anne S. Tsao, for publicity chair, are all running unopposed. Karen T. Ho and David S. Park face off for the treasurer's office and Jennifer M. Moore and Kyra Raphaelidis are running together, unopposed, for the social co-chair positions.

Andrew S. Altevogt and Lisa M. Chow are vying for the presidency of the Class of 1993, while Yvonne G. Lin and DeWitt C. Seward IV compete for the vice presidency. Karen K. Oda, for secretary, and Sophia Yen, for treasurer, are running unopposed, as are the teams of Wendy C. Vit/Leila Tabibian and Rebecca L. Geisler/Reshma P. Patel for social co-chairs and publicity co-chairs, respectively.

For the Class of 1992, only three positions have candidates. Aileen W. Lee is running against Peter N. Wainman for president, while Ava Y. Kuo and Jennifer

B. Singer run unopposed for

vice president and treasurer, respectively.

The graduating Class of 1991 has Sharra L. Davidson running unopposed for president, Susan E. Perrin for vice president, and Andrew P. Strehle for secretary. Anthia Y. Chen and Brian M. Katz are running for the member-at-large positions, while Garrett R. Love is running for class agent.