The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 50.0°F | Overcast

Humanities dean search committee has students

Humanities dean search

committee has students

By Brian Rosenberg

Two students were among those named to the Dean of Humanities and Social Science Advisory Committee yesterday. Laura A. Hastings G and Nancy J. Schondorf '93 became part of the eight-member committee to search for a dean of the School of Humanities and Social Science after Provost Mark S. Wrighton asked them to participate.

Hans C. Godfrey '93, chair of the Undergraduate Association Governance Committee, was pleased with Schondorf's appointment. "Provost Wrighton has done the right thing," he said.

Schondorf was one of five students recommended by the governance committee for inclusion on the advisory committee. Godfrey said the five students were selected based on "inter

est and involvement in the humanities and their own self-confidence." He explained, "We wanted someone who would feel comfortable voicing their opinions in front of all these professors."

Wrighton was in Maine yesterday and could not be reached for comment.

Schondorf said she did not know by what criteria she was chosen, but that Wrighton told her she had been chosen because of the "balance between [her] major and my involvement in the humanities." Schondorf is majoring in materials science and engineering.

Hastings was unavailable for comment.

Godfrey said the UA will be holding weekly meetings with Wrighton in an effort to continue the trend of having students on Institute search committees. "The meetings address whatever issues are pressing, but they arose out of the governance issue," Godfrey said.

Professor Robert J. Silbey, head of the Department of Chemistry and a member of the advisory committee, said the committee will probably have its first meeting this Friday afternoon.

Ford International Professor of Political Science Suzanne D. Berger will chair the committee. Berger is head of the Department of Political Science.

The other members of the committee are Professor Alan Brody, director of the Music and Theater Arts Section of the Department of Humanities; Professor Peter S. Donaldson, head of the Literature Section; Associate Professor in the Writing Program Rosalind H. Williams; and Mitsui Professor of Economics and Management Paul L. Joskow.

I left the last paragraph in in case you find you have room for it -- adl