The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 64.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Nobel laureates at MIT

Nobel laureates at MIT

There are 10 current or emeritus MIT faculty members who have won Nobel Prizes:

1/3 Har Gobind Khorana, a professor of biology and chemistry, won the 1968 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for interpreting "the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis." His work was done at the University of Wisconsin.

1/3 Salvador Luria, professor of biology, emeritus, shared

the 1969 prize in physiology or medicine for discoveries concerning "the replication mechanism and the genetic structure of viruses."

1/3 Paul A. Samuelson, Institute professor of economics, emeritus, won the 1970 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Science for working to raise the level of scientific analysis in economic theory. He was the first American to win the award.

1/3 Samuel C. C. Ting, professor of physics, shared the 1976 Nobel Prize in physics for discovering the J particle, a heavy elemental particle of subatomic matter.

1/3 Franco Modigliani, Institute professor of economics, emeritus, won the 1985 economics prize for his "pioneering analyses of saving and of financial markets," often referred to as "life-cycle savings."

1/3 Susumu Tonegawa, professor of biology, won the 1987 prize in physiology or medicine for discovering how gene fragments combine to produce countless variations in the immune response of humans.

1/3 Robert M. Solow, Institute professor of economics, won the 1987 economics prize for developing a mathematical model to determine factors that drive economic growth and showing that mature economies reach a stage where growth "will be exclusively determined by technological progress."

1/3 Jerome I. Friedman and Henry W. Kendall PhD '55, professors of physics, shared the 1990 physics prize with Richard E. Taylor of the Stanford Linear Accelerator for confirming the existence of quarks, an inner structure of protons and neutrons, in the atomic nucleus.

1/3 Eric S. Chivian, a psychiatrist in the MIT Medical Department, shared the 1985 Nobel Peace Prize as a leader of International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War.

Three former MIT faculty members have also won Nobel Prizes:

1/3 Charles H. Townes, provost and a professor of physics from 1961-1966, shared the 1964 physics prize for work "in quantum electronics," developing the laser and maser.

1/3 David Baltimore '61, a faculty member from 1968-1990 and director of the MIT-affiliated Whitehead Institute from 1982-1990, shared the 1975 prize in physiology or medicine for "discoveries concerning interaction between tumor viruses and the genetic material of the cell." Baltimore is now president of Rockefeller University in New York City.

1/3 Steven Weinberg shared the 1979 prize in physics for work involving the search for an underlying physical principle of the universe, "the theory of the unified weak and electromagnetic interaction between elementary particles, including . . . the prediction of the weak neutral current." Weinberg did the work at MIT from 1967 to 1973, and he continued at Harvard University, where he was working when awarded the prize.