The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 38.0°F | A Few Clouds

Women's crew beats Wellesley; men lose Sprints

By Anh Thu Vo

The women's varsity eight crew club avenged a pair of early-season losses to Wellesley College in their last race before the Women's Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges Sprints Championship at Lake Waramaug, CT. The Engineers hosted Wellesley Saturday on the Charles River.

Having lost to Wellesley three weeks ago in the Brunelle Cup Regatta and again last Sunday at the New England Championship Regatta, the Engineers came into the race determined to win. And they accomplished just that, beating Wellesley by nearly three seats and four seconds despite a poor start and some lost distance early in the race.

Wellesley fired off the starting line and swiftly gained a four-seat lead as the two eights settled into the race. Despite the early trouble, the Engineers kept their composure and rowed with visibly better technique. Wellesley was rowing with much less finesse, using their larger build to keep their slim lead. The Wellesley bladework was sloppy, lacking in swing and hanging at the catch.

Near the 800-meter mark, Wellesley's technique problems began to cost them some boat speed. Meanwhile, MIT still rowed with technical perfection. Coming through the 1000-meter mark (the Massachusetts Avenue Bridge), MIT recaptured the lead by one seat and began to lengthen it through the last 1000 meters. Wellesley responded with several moves that were countered by MIT.

The Engineers' hard work and dedication paid off as they passed the finish line in 7:05.35, beating Wellesley's 7:09.61 .

Rowing in the winning eight were Becky Dumas '90 (stroke), Laura Opsasnick '90, Gwen Shelton '91, Sue Perrin '91, Beth Jones '90, Wendy Rowell '91, Magda Nour '89, and Karen Chenausky '89. Captain Tricia Roxas '89 coxed.

The junior varsity eight did not achieve the same success. Having jumped the first start, the two eights were called back to the starting line. Wellesley then got one seat up on MIT in the second start and gradually lengthened their lead despite several moves made by MIT. Coming by the 1500-meter mark, the Engineers were roughly two lengths behind Wellesley. Wellesley won the race in 7:18.78 while MIT finished in 7:36.24 .

The first novice eight also lost; however, MIT displayed a steely determination as they reduced a seven-seat gap down to one foot as the boats crossed the finish line. According to novice coach and boathouse director Tom Tiffany, they lost too much length at the start and during the first 1000 meters to catch up. MIT lost to Wellesley in 0.6 seconds, posting a time of 7:16.57 . Wellesley's winning time was 7:15.89 .

The women's crew teams will again face Wellesley among other crews in the Eastern Sprints.


JV eight wins final

at Eastern Sprints


The men's heavyweight and lightweight crew teams traveled to Lake Quinsigamond last weekend to compete in the Eastern Association of Rowing College Sprints Championships. MIT crews rowed well, yet could not catch up to their faster opponents. Because of their poor finishes in their qualifying heats, all the MIT crews were sent to either the petite finals or the third level finals.

The highlight for MIT came from the heavyweight junior varsity eight, who won their third level final and beat out crews from Rutgers University, Holy Cross College, and Columbia University. MIT won their final in 6:35.3, followed by Rutgers in 6:38.5, Holy Cross in 6:38.5, and Columbia in 6:45.7 .

Rowing in the winning eight were Roger Knapp '91, Eric Burgess '90, Josh Duke '90, Carl Lienert '89, Bob Martin '90, Paul Asakson '90, Jeff Myjak '91, and Mike Petro '89. Yungie Hahn '91 coxed.

The heavyweight first freshmen eight also distinguished themselves with a second place in their third level final (6:48.5), losing to Rutgers (6:42.1) and beating Columbia (6:52.3).

The varsity heavyweight did not fare so well. MIT was edged out by 0.9 seconds by Dartmouth College and finished 2.3 seconds behind Columbia, the winner in the third level final. MIT's time was 6:20.3, to Dartmouth's 6:19.4 and Columbia's 6:18.0 .

This year's spring racing season has proven frustrating for the varsity heavyweights, the reigning champions of the club eight event at the Head of The Charles Regatta.

The varsity lightweight lost to Harvard University, Yale University, Columbia, and Cornell University in their qualifying heat. Since the top three finishers of each heat went on to the grand final, MIT and Cornell were assigned to the petite final. MIT finished last (6:33.2), behind the US Naval Academy (6:30.0) and the University of Pennsylvania (6:28.2).

The JV lightweight also lost in their petite final, finishing fourth behind Rutgers (6:44.0), Cornell (6:39.7), and Columbia (6:34.9). MIT's time was 6:52.0 .

The lightweight first freshman eight fared somewhat better than their varsity counterparts, finishing third in the freshmen petite final. MIT (6:44.7) beat Columbia (6:50.7) but lost to Rutgers (6:41.0) and Navy (6:40.7).