The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 68.0°F | Fog/Mist

Two to run for UAP/VP



Two to run for UAP/VP


By Charles R. Jankowski

An apparent increase in student interest in the Undergraduate Association (UA) has resulted in a wider selection of candidates running for several major UA offices March 13.

Two pairs of students are running for the positions of UA president and vice president. Nine of sixteen major class positions have either one or no students running for offices.

Last year, David M. Libby '85 and Stephanie L. Scheidler '85 were the sole candidates for the top two offices. 21 of 26 class offices had either one or no candidates.

Bryan R. Moser '87, class of 1987 vice-president, and Mary S. Tai '87 will be running for UA president and vice president, respectively, against David M. Henry '88 and William A. Herlan '86.

Vivienne Lee '86, president of the class of 1986 for the past two years, will run for re-election, as will Grace W. Ueng '87, president of her class. Libby and Scheidler will run for treasurer and secretary of the class of '85.

Competing for the presidency of the class of '85 are Robin L. Barker, Inge Gedo, Robert E. Malchman, and Noelle M. Merritt. Merritt lost her bid for the president's spot last year when Michael Candan defeated her. Alejandro Menchaca will run unopposed for the vice presidency of the senior class.

Diane M. Hess and Albert Y. Wang will oppose Scheidler for secretary of the senior class, while Adrian C. Wang will contend with Libby for the treasurer's spot.

All candidates for class of '86 offices will run unopposed. Lee is the candidate for president, and Sharon A. Israel, current vice president, will run again. Elizabeth A. Dernbach and Mary C. Ystueta will run for secretary and [el-46p10]

treasurer, respectively.

In the class of '87, Michael H. Schoen and Robert J. Webster will oppose the incumbent Ueng for president. Timothy B. Jones, class of '87 treasurer, is running unopposed for vice president. There is no candidate for the position of secretary, and Arun D. Bordoloi is the lone aspirant to the treasurer's spot.

Three freshmen are vying for class of '88 president: Michael J. Franklin, Steven M. McLaughlin, and Josh B. Spielman. Franklin is the only one of the three on the Freshman Council, the student government of the freshman class.

Running for class of '88 vice president are Monica E. Eydt, Knute A. Ream, and Andrea L. Wong, Freshman Council vice president. Grace Y. Ma, Freshman Council treasurer shall compete with Nazhin S. Zarghamee for secretary. No one has expressed interest in the treasurer's position.

In order to run for UA or class office, a prospective candidate needed to obtain a certain number of student signatures on official petitions which were due last Friday at noon. Students needed 454 signatures for UA offices and 115 for class offices.

Turnout looks good

"I`m very pleased with the turnout this year," said Daniel J. O'Day '86, UA election commissioner. "I think the fact that we have two pairs running for UAP/UAVP will spark interest in the elections this year."

Last year 23.2 percent of all eligible voters cast ballots in the UA elections. This was the worst turnout since 1974, when only l7 percent of the student body voted.

O'Day attributed last year's voter apathy to the lack of competition and insufficient publicity surrounding the election. "There [el-46p10]

were some problems with the voting booths, in that we had to move them because of the weather, and there weren't adequate signs to show people where they were," he said.

The UA will take definite steps to increase student interest in the elections, O'Day said. "We're going to have a forum, that will be open to anyone, where all of the candidates can get up and speak about their views on their positions." The forum will probably be held after the UA Council meeting on the Thursday before the general elections, O'Day added.

O'Day also plans to put an election supplement in The Tech listing all the candidates and outlining all of their positions on issues. "It will also be up to the candidates themselves to make themselves known to their constituents, by going around and meeting students, and expressing their views," O'Day continued.

Finally, O'Day stressed that the election process itself is the most important factor in gaining student interest. "I'm definitely going to try and make the election process simple and clear -- as straightforward as possible."