The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 49.0°F | Overcast

Student's to study Coop's relocation

MIT's undergraduate and graduate student governments have jointly organized an 11-member Coop Committee. The committee will advise the MIT administration on possible uses for the space that will become available in the Julius Adams Stratton '23 Student Center should the tentative relocation of the Tech branch of the Harvard Cooperative Society to Kendall Square become a reality.

Barbara M. Fienman, campus activities advisor, will aid the committee in evaluating proposals for the space.

The formation of the committee precedes any final announcement by the Coop Board of Directors that the Coop will definitely leave the MIT campus. "That the Coop will move out of the Student Center is certain, but not official," said Bryan R. Moser '87, UA president. "I have not heard that any contracts have been signed, but every indication says that the Coop will move."

Sarah R. Thomas '87, UA secretary, speculated on possible plans for the reallocation of vacated space in the event of the move. The second floor of the Student Center could be converted to office space for student activites. But it is more likely that stores will occupy the space becuase it is zoned for commercial use, she said.

Moser agreed, stating that the space will most probably be filled with student activities offices, small retail shops or food establishments.

The Coop Committee will report to the UA Council after it completes its study. All recommendations will be subject to the Council's approval, Moser said.

The committee will meet once this term for organizational purposes, Fienman said. Time constraints imposed by Fienman's PhD thesis work have prevented the committee from meeting this term. Meetings will be held on a regular basis beginning next term.

The UA originally intended the committee to include three members from the Graduate Student Council (GSC); the GSC instead selected four students in order to increase graduate student representation, according to GSC President Janine M. Nell G.

The four GSC members on the Coop Committee are: Ariel G. Ferdman G, James J. Hickman G, Jing-Song Huang G and John M. Lucassen G.

Seven participants on the committee are members of undergraduate student government: Stephanie R. Levin '87 and Walter A. Rho '87 are members of the UA Council and Gregory L. Greeley '86 and Robin L. Hunter '89 are UA members-at-large. James S. Gotshalk '87 and Robin L. Hunter '89 represent the Student Center Committee (SCC) on the Coop relocation board. The Association of Student Activities will name one Coop committee member, to be selected at a later date.