The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 31.0°F | Fair

Undefeated track tean=m gears up for N.E. finals

By Arthur Lee

Last year, MIT's indoor track team suffered a disappointing 86-84 loss to Brandeis University in the New England Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships.

Coach Gordon Kelly predicts that this year's contest will be "another barnburner." The championship meet will take place Saturday at the MIT Athletic Center.

Six field events and eleven running events have been scheduled for the regional competition, which will start at 11 a.m.

Since 1980, the N.E. Division III title has been won by either MIT (1981, 1982) or Tufts (1980, 1983), with the exception of last year's Brandeis win.

The meet promises to be an exciting one with the likes of returning champion Pat Parris '85 and strong contender Greg Procopio '85 in the 35-lb weight throw. Procopio, recovering from a back injury, will attempt to unseat Greg Steelman of Brandeis in the shot put throw.

Co-captain Ron Smith '85 will be the Engineer to watch for in the 800-meter run while Gordon Holterman '87 will be the Engineers' threat in the 1000 and 1500 meter runs. Holterman will be challenged by two runners, Mark Beeman of Brandeis and Jim Goodberlet of Bates, in these long distance races.

Ross Dreyer '86 will try his best against Eric Poullain of Tufts and Paul Slovenski of Bates in the pole vault.

Others to watch for in the meet are Ken Andrews (Brandeis) and David Wood (UMass-Boston) in the 500-meter run, Derek Green (Tufts) and Mark Mahoney (Brandeis) in the 55-meter dash, Kevin Crawley of Coast Guard in the high jump, and Mark Mahoney of Brandeis in the long jump.

Although MIT was undefeated in dual-meet competition this season (24 wins in 18 meets), the championship meet will give the Engineers their toughest competition of the season.

In a championship meet where the field of competitors is large, the team may have trouble fending off star athletes from other schools garnering their share of wins in their specialties. The depth of the MIT squad will be put to the test Saturday.

Other teams participating in the meet will be: Amherst, Bates, Bowdoin, Clark, Coast Guard, Colby, Fitchburg State, UMass-Boston, Middlebury, Norwich, Rhode Island College, Salem State, Southeastern Massachusetts, Trinity, Wesleyan, Westfield State, Williams, WPI, and Worcester State.

Admission to the meet is $2.