The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 33.0°F | Partly Cloudy

Football to open vs. Stonehill

The MIT football team will open its season against Stonehill College tomorrow at 1 pm at Steinbrenner stadium.

Head Coach Dwight Smith said tomorrow's game will be "one of the most difficult games of the season," but he predicts the team will hold its own throughout the season.

Coach Smith described this year's defense as better than in past years. He said the offense is not quite as good as it was in the past, but it is improving. He plans on an overall team equal to, if not better than, any other team he has coached in his last seven years at MIT. Because the team "lacks depth," Smith hopes his starters will stay healthy.

This year's starting quarterback is Peter J. Gasparini '88. He started a few games last season when last year's starting quarterback was injured. Joining Gasparini in the backfield is fullback Hugh B. Ekberg '88, weighing approximately 255 lbs. Ekberg is one of the fastest runners on the team.

Blocking for Gasparini and Ekberg are two of the most experienced offensive line players on the team. They are John L. Newton G and co-captain Arthur B. Gregory '87. Newton, in his fifth year as offensive guard, keys the other offensive linemen of their blocking assignments.

Defensive co-captains Larry S. Monroe G and Nicholas S. Nowak '86 both mentioned that the defense looks really good. Most of this year's team played last year.

Last Saturday, the Engineers held a practice scrimmage against Bentley College. Monroe commented that the "offense really moved the ball," garnering two touchdowns in the three fifteen-minute quarters played. The defense claimed many interceptions and fumbles, keeping Bentley scoreless.

The Engineers' record of five wins and three losses sent the team to club finals last season. Their loss in the NCFA semifinals was disappointing, since they were leading Worcester State at the half. Worcester State later went on to win the championship, and it is now a member of Division III.