The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 78.0°F | Overcast

Five MIT athletes receive awards at Institute Awards Convocation

Track star Patrice Parris '85 was one of five athletes honored at the Awards Convocation held May 8. Ron Smith '85, Lori Peterson '85, Lisa Shields '85, and Mike Ambrogi '85 also received awards at the convocation.

Parris won the 35-lb weight throw at the NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships and finished fourth at the IC4A Championships at Princeton. For his efforts, Parris was awarded The Class of 1948 Award as MIT's top senior male athlete.

Parris also received the Malcolm G. Kispert Award, given to the top male scholar-athlete. Parris had a 4.7 grade-point-average as a double major in electrical engineering and physics.

Peterson, who captured the one- and three-meter diving titles at the New England Division III Championships and finished sixth in the three-meter competition at the NCAA Division III Championships, was given the Betsy Schumacker Award as MIT's top female athlete.

Tennis standout Shields received two awards -- the Pewter Bowl Award for inspiration and leadership in women's athletics and the Malcolm G. Kispert Award as the top female scholar-athlete.

Shields not only was women's tennis team captain and most valuable player, but she compiled a 4.5 grade-point-average in aeronautics and astronautics.

Football and lacrosse co-captain Mike Ambrogi '85 and track co-captain Ron Smith '85 jointly received the Admiral Edward L. Cochrane Award for leadership and inspiration to teammates.

In addition to these awards, eleven athletes received Straight "T" Awards for outstanding performance in regional and national competition. The award winners are:

Fencers Russell Holtz '85 and Linda Ystueta '88; swimmers Andy Renshaw '85, Clark Dorman '87, and Lori Peterson '85; track weightmen Parris and Greg Procopio '85; pistol captain Jerry Martin '86; rifleman Cliff Eskey '85; and volleyball veteran Anella Munro '85.

The women's volleyball team also received a Straight "T" Award for its second-place finish at the NCAA Division III Championships in December. The squad is the first group to be so recognized.