The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 74.0°F | A Few Clouds

Anderson succeeds Maimone as IFC chairman

By Lisa Doh

The InterFraternity Conference (IFC) elected Tinley Anderson '86 as the new chairman in elections held on March 20.

Anderson, a resident of Phi Gamma Delta (Fiji), has already replaced last year's chairman, William T. Maimone '85 of Beta Theta Pi (BTP), and will conduct the next meeting.

The purpose of the IFC, Anderson believes, is to "serve the fraternity system by helping to promote relationships among the IFC members and MIT administration."

"Its main concern," he said, "is to guard the best interests of its members, whatever they may be at the time." Anderson hopes that he will be able to "help the IFC meet this purpose."

"I intend to successfully fulfill my responsibilities," he continued, "some of which involve coordinating the interaction of the various living groups, acting as spokesman of the executive committee, as well as functioning as the visible link between the IFC and the administration."

The IFC elected James M. Prusko '86 of Phi Sigma Kappa as vice--chairman, George Zachary '87 of Fiji as treasurer and Kevin G. O'Connor '87 of Zeta Psi as secretary.

The council also selected Linda E. Muri '85 of pika as judicial committee chairman, Kenneth S. Koblan '86 of Fiji as rush chairman, Matthew W. Turner '88 of Delta Tau Delta (DTD) as program chairman and Mintoo Bhandari '87 of DTD as community relations chairman.

Other students filling IFC posts include Karl Buttner '87 of Sigma Chi as financial manager, William H. Santos '87 of BTP and Christopher J. Colbert '86 of Delta Kappa Epsilon as joint purchasing managers and Tamara L. Abell '87 of the Women's Independent Living Group as Alumni Relations director.