The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 73.0°F | A Few Clouds

Parris Captures Division III track championship

By Martin Dickau

MIT co-captain and three-time New England Division III champion Patrice Parris '85 hurled the 35-pound weight 60@# 71/4" on his second throw to take first place at the 1985 NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships at Bates College last week.

Teammate Greg Procopio '85 finished fourth with a personal best of 55@# 3/4", behind Union College's Scott Remillard (59@# 3/4") and Stockton College's Michael Mielke (55@# 61/4").

Gordon Holterman '87 and co-captain Ron Smith '85 also participated in the competition. Holterman finished fourth in the second heat of the 1500-meter run with a time of 3:56.54, which was not good enough to qualify him for the finals.

Smith also did not qualify, finishing sixth in his heat in the 800-meter run with a time of 1:55.89.

MIT, which had led after the first day of scoring, finished ninth overall among the 57 teams represented at the championship.

Parris is only the fourth MIT athelete to win a national track title -- the first since Dave Kieda '82 won the hammer throw in 1982. John Pearson '74 also won the hammer throw in 1974, and Frank Richardson '77 took the title in the 10,000-meter run in 1977.

Parris broke the 29-year-old MIT record when he threw the weight 61@# 6" to take fourth at the IC4A Championships at Princeton March 2. The previous record had been held by John Morefield '56.

Parris and Procopio were both named to the 1985 all-America indoor track team for their performances.

This is the first year that the national indoor track championships were broken down by NCAA Division, according to MIT Sports Information Director Ken Cerino. In the past, he said, the championships have been "open," with atheletes from Divisions I, II, and III competing.