The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 33.0°F | A Few Clouds
Article Tools

Profs Danheiser and Poonen awarded School of Science Teaching Prizes

The MIT School of Science recently awarded its annual Teaching Prizes for Graduate and Undergraduate Education to two faculty members. The honor is for excellence in the classroom.

The two recipients this year are Rick L. Danheiser, the A. C. Cope Professor of Chemistry, and Bjorn Poonen, the C. E. Shannon Professor in Mathematics. Professor Danheiser teaches the graduate-level class 5.511 (synthetic organic chemistry), and Professor Poonen is the instructor for 18.03 (differential equations).

Both professors were nominated last spring by their students and fellow faculty members. The award has existed for over 30 years.

Last year’s recipients of the award were Professor Timothy F. Jamison for his instruction in chemistry, and Associate Professor Joshua N. Winn for his teaching in physics.

—Ray Wang