The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 24.0°F | A Few Clouds and Breezy

Professors and alumni elected to the National Academy of Sciences

MIT professors

Barbara H. Liskov, Institute professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Subra Suresh ScD ’81, current National Science Foundation director and former dean of MIT’s School of Engineering

Robert Townsend, professor of economics

Richard A. Young, professor of biology and member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research

MIT alumni

John B. Bell ’75, senior staff scientist and group leader, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Jagdish N. Bhagwati PhD ’67, professor of economics and professor of political science, Columbia University

Pablo G. Debenedetti ’81, PhD ’85, professor of chemical and biological engineering, Princeton University

John T. Groves III ’65, professor of chemistry, Princeton University

Marcia J. Rieki ’72, PhD ’76, professor of astronomy, University of Arizona

William R. Young PhD ’81, professor of physical oceanography, University of California at San Diego