The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 24.0°F | Fair

Recent commencement speakers

compiled by Michael McGraw-Herdeg and Joanna Kao
Year Date announced by The Tech Commencement speaker
2011 Nov. 9 Ursula M. Burns, CEO of Xerox
2010 Mar. 16 Raymond S. Stata
2009 Feb. 10 Deval Patrick, Massachusetts Governor
2008 Dec. 7 Muhammad Yunus, 2006 Nobel Peace Prize winner
2007 Mar. 13 Charles M. Vest, former MIT president
2006 Dec. 13 Ben S. Bernanke, chairman of Federal Reserve Board
2005 Apr. 12 Irwin Jacobs, co-founder/chairman/CEO of Qualcomm
2004 Mar. 9 Elias Zerhouni, Director of NIH
2003 Apr. 1 George Mitchell, former U.S. Senator
2002 Feb. 26 James Wolfensohn, President of the World Bank
2001 Mar. 23 Daniel Goldin, NASA Administrator
2000 Mar. 14 Carly Fiorina, President & CEO, HP
1999 Apr. 2 Tom & Ray Magliozzi, MIT alumni and hosts of NPR’s “Car Talk”
1998 Feb. 24 William Jefferson Clinton and David Ho, AIDS researcher
1997 Jan. 29 Kofi Annan, UN Secretary-General
1996 Mar. 1 Albert Gore, U.S. Vice President
1995 Apr. 21 Hanna H. Gray, President Emeritus of the University of Chicago
1994 Feb. 15 Karim Aga Khan IV, spiritual leader of the Shia Ismaili Muslims