The Tech - Snowy Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 31.0°F | Light Snow

Past commencement speakers

compiled by Michael McGraw-Herdeg
Year Date announced by The Tech Commencement speaker and affiliation
2010 Mar. 16 Raymond S. Stata, founder of Analog Devices
2009 Feb. 10 Deval Patrick, Massachusetts Governor
2008 Dec. 7 Muhammad Yunus, 2006 Nobel Peace Prize winner
2007 Mar. 13 Charles M. Vest, professor of Mechanial Engineering (at the time) and former president of MIT
2006 Dec. 13 Ben S. Bernanke, chairman of Federal Reserve Board
2005 Apr. 12 Irwin Jacobs, co-founder/chairman/CEO of Qualcomm
2004 Mar. 9 Elias Zerhouni, Director of NIH
2003 Apr. 1 George Mitchell, former US Senator
2002 Feb. 26 James Wolfensohn, President of the World Bank
2001 Mar. 23 Daniel Goldin, NASA Administrator
2000 Mar. 14 Carly Fiorina, President & CEO, Hewlett-Packard
1999 Apr. 2 Tom & Ray Magliozzi, MIT alums and hosts of NPR’s “Car Talk”
1998 Feb. 24 William Jefferson Clinton, US President, and David Ho, AIDS
1997 Jan. 29 Kofi Annan, United Nations Secretary-General
1996 Mar. 1 Albert Gore, Vice President of the United States
1995 Apr. 21 Hanna H. Gray, President Emeritus of the University of Chicago
1994 Feb. 15 Karim Aga Khan IV, spiritual leader of the Shia Ismaili Muslims
1993 Jan. 13 Carlos Salinas de Gortari, President of the United Mexican States
1992 Mar. 31 Leslie Aspin, Congressman from Wisconsin; chairman of the House Armed Services Committee
1991 Mar. 13 Walter E. Massey, director of the National Science Foundation
1990 Dec. 5 Virgilio Barco, President of the Republic of Colombia
1989 Feb. 14 Paul E. Tsongas, chairman of the Board of Regents of Higher Education of Massachusetts; former US Senator from Massachusetts
1988 Feb. 12 A. Bartlett Giamatti, president of the National League of Professional Baseball Clubs; former president of Yale University
1987 Feb. 3 Kenneth H. Olsen, founder and president of Digital Equipment Corp.
1986 Feb. 4 William R. Hewlett, vice chairman of the board of directors, Hewlett-Packard.
1985 Jan. 23 Lee A. Iacocca, chairman of the board and CEO, Chrysler Corp.
1984 Feb. 7 Shirley Chisholm, former Congresswoman of Brooklyn, NY
1983 Feb. 8 Helmut Schmidt, former Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany
1982 Mar. 5 Katharine Graham, chairman of the board and CEO, Washington Post Co.
1981 Mar. 20 Paul E. Gray, MIT president elected that academic year