The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 36.0°F | A Few Clouds
Article Tools

MIT Earns NEWMAC Women’s Volleyball Postseason Honors

The MIT women’s volleyball team received four postseason awards from the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) on Tuesday. The Engineers’ individual total this year equals the program high established in 2002.

Cecily L. Joujon-Roche ’12 earned the title Co-Rookie of the Year, making her MIT’s fourth recipient of this honor. The freshman middle hitter tallied 102 kills and 68 blocks in 82 sets.

Outside hitter Alexandra T. May ’10, a Rookie of the Year selection in 2006, was named to the All-Conference First Team. Her classmates Barden E. Cleeland ’10 and Katrina M. Ellison ’10 were both voted to the Second Team, their first awards in the league.

May paced MIT’s attack with 457 kills to go along with 380 digs, 50 blocks, and a .942 serve receive percentage. Cleeland was dominant force from the middle hitter position, posting a team-high 103 blocks in addition to 277 kills and a team-best .322 hitting percentage. Ellison’s versatility generated 277 digs, 195 kills, 70 assists, 57 blocks, and a .908 serve receive percentage.

—Mindy Brauer, DAPER Staff

MIT Places Three on NEWMAC Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team

The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2008 women’s soccer postseason awards on Tuesday with first-time honorees Stephanie V. Brenman ’09, Alisha D. Lussiez ’12, and Lauren R. Hernley ’11 representing MIT on the All-Conference Team.

Brenman capped her career with a First Team selection after playing every minute in net and compiling eight shutouts and 79 saves. Lussiez, the Engineers’ leading scorer with eight goals, including three game-winners, three assists, and 19 points, joined Brenman on the All-Conference First Team. Rounding out the MIT contingent was Hernley, who was placed on the Second Team after ranking second on the squad in scoring with three goals and two assists for eight points.

Joining Brenman and Lussiez on the All-Conference First Team were Springfield College’s Lauren Peltier, Delaney Cantrall, Nicole Hanewich and Kayla Thibeault. Babson College’s Jackie Graham, Amanda Young of Wellesley College and Wheaton College’s Emily Hough and Lyndsey McManus also earned First Team honors.

The Second Team All-Conference unit was comprised of Hernley, Sam Bartman and Patty Pytlik of Babson, Clark University’s Joanna Clark and Julia Rizzo, the U.S. Coast Guard Academy’s Katie Kurek, Smith College’s Etta Grover-Silva, Wellesley’s Catherine Caruso, Wheaton’s Melida Alvarez and Alessia Viscomi, and Kristen Garza from the Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

—James Kramer, DAPER Staff

Two Engineers Earn NEWMAC Field Hockey All-Conference Honors

A pair of MIT field hockey players were named to the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) All-Conference teams on Tuesday. Anna H. Teruya ’12 garnered a first team selection while Alexandra A. Wright ’11 was named to the second team. This marks the sixth time in seven years that at least two Engineers have earned All-Conference honors.

Starting all 19 games this season for the Engineers. Teruya ranked second on the team in goals (nine) and points (21). Both of those totals ranked her third among NEWMAC freshman. Teruya is the first MIT freshman named to the All-Conference team since Deanna M. Lentz ’06 in 2002.

An excellent distributor with the ball, Wright consistently marked the opposition’s center forward, helping to anchor the MIT defense throughout the season while starting 18 games at the midfield and defensive positions.

—Greg McKeever, DAPER Staff