The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 53.0°F | A Few Clouds
Article Tools

Men’s Cross Country Captures NEWMAC Championship

Jacob J. Ruzevick ’09 captured Runner of the Year honors for the second year in a row and helped lead the MIT men’s cross country team to the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) championship Saturday at Franklin Park in Boston. The Engineers have won every NEWMAC championship since the inception of the league, a streak that stands at 11.

Ruzevick (25:25) refused to relinquish his hold on the Runner of the Year award, pulling away from a pair of Coast Guard harriers in the final mile for a three-second victory. Tech placed six other runners in the top 11 on the way to a thirteen-point victory over Coast Guard. Hemagiri Arumugam ’10 crossed the finish line at 25:49 to place fifth. Jeremiah “Yermie” R. Cohen ’09 (25:58) and Trevor B. Rundell ’09 (26:04) were directly behind. Paul D. Welle ’11 rounded out the scoring for the conference champions, finishing ninth with a time of 26:16.

Andrew T. Erickson ’11 took home the Rookie of the Year award as the top first-year finisher in 10th place. Jack H. Bourbonnais ’10 and Gihan S. Amarasiriwardena ’11 also earned All-Conference honors by placing in the top 14.

MIT finished with a total of 28 points. Coast Guard was second with 41 points and Springfield came in third with 93 points.

—Greg McKeever, DAPER Staff

Women’s Cross Country Races to Second Consecutive NEWMAC Championship

For the second year in a row, the MIT women’s cross country team captured the NEWMAC championship, held Saturday at Franklin Park in Boston. Eight MIT harriers earned All-Conference honors by placing in the top 14, including top overall finisher and NEWMAC Runner of the Year Jacqueline M. Wentz ’10.

Wentz completed the five-kilometer course in 18:28, more than 12 seconds faster than her nearest competitor. Andrea E. Bradshaw ’09 (18:59) led a group of four Engineers through the chute, finishing fifth. Katherine J. Eve ’12, Maria J. Monks ’10 and Janice O’Brien ’12 were directly behind Bradshaw. Eve received the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year award as the top first-year finisher in the race. Anna M. Holt-Gosselin ’11, Jennifer A. Doyle ’09 and Elizabeth M. Finn ’09 were also named to the All-Conference Team.

MIT finished with a total of 27 points, giving them a comfortable victory over second place Wheaton College (77 points). Springfield College finished third with 87 points.

Both the men’s and women’s cross country teams will look to build on their victories with strong showings at the NCAA Division III New England Regional championship in two weeks in Williamstown, Mass.

—Greg McKeever, DAPER Staff

MIT Stuns Wellesley in NEWMAC Women’s Soccer Quarterfinals

Jean “Liz” E. Theurer ’10 made her first goal of the season a memorable one by scoring the lone goal on Saturday as the visiting Engineers knocked off Wellesley College in the NEWMAC Women’s Soccer Tournament Quarterfinals.

After a scoreless first half that saw each team take seven shots, Theurer broke the tie just 3:29 into the second half. The MIT junior had her first attempt stopped by Wellesley’s Sarah Gray, but Theurer scrambled to her feet more quickly than the Blue keeper to knock the rebound into the back of the net.

Wellesley had a great scoring opportunity with 10 minutes left to play when Catherine Caruso sent a pass to Amanda Young. However, Young’s shot from eight-yards out was saved by MIT’s Stephanie V. Brenman ’09, and the Engineer’s held on for the 1-0 victory.

For the game, Wellesley held a 16-14 advantage in shots. In goal, Brenman finished with nine saves for the Engineers, picking up her eighth shutout of the season. In net for Wellesley, Gray picked up seven saves in her second career start.

The win advances MIT to the conference Semifinals to play top-seeded Springfield College. The Engineers have won three straight and are 4-1-1 in their last six games.

—James Kramer, DAPER Staff